Introducing…

Hi, I’m Kiara.

Greetings from my humble little abode in Shrewsbury, which is where I’m based at the moment when I’m not travelling.  It’s not a bad place to be based, it’s a thriving medieval town with a great music and arts scene, and when I need a taste of city life, I can hop on a train to Manchester, Birmingham, or Liverpool – all around an hour away – or London, which is only a 3-hour trip.

My four passions in life – Travel, Writing, Photography, and Music. In my blog I hope to share my travel experiences with you using the medias of writing, photography and music. After all, countries and cities and cultures are a mixture of all these things…of words and images, and sounds, and flavours. I’ve travelled solo around South-east Asia, I’ve skydived in New Zealand, bathed elephants in Thailand, paddled a little wooden dugout down the Nam Ou river in Laos, trekked the beautiful rice terraces of Sapa in Vietnam, walked the Great Wall of China, ridden a camel through the Sahara – in the rain, taken a hot air balloon flight over the surreal volcanic landscape of Cappadocia, Turkey, cycled the Adriatic coast from Venice to Porec (Croatia), experienced the crazy, colourful streets of Delhi, island-hopped in Japan, walked every inch of the pretty little Greek island of Paxos…and those are just the highlights!   Whenever I have the money and time to do so, I’m continually adding to those experiences….I got bitten by the travel bug a long time ago!

I’ve written blogs previously on www.blogger.com – to view my blog of my 6-month solo trip around South-east Asia visit www.cactuschild.blogspot.co.uk or to view my latest trip to Turkey visit www.turkeyintendays.blogspot.co.uk – but I’m liking the look of WordPress, so I thought I’d branch out.

I’m returning (after 9 years) to Barcelona at the end of the month, which I’m very much looking forward to, so please re-visit my blog in July for some stories, observations, facts and information, tips and recommendations, and some images and (hopefully) music clips to accompany them.

In the meantime I’ll leave you with a few of my favourite travel quotes…

“Travelling – it leaves you speechless, and then turns you into a storyteller”

“I would rather own little and see the world than own the world and see little of it”

“The world is a book and those who do not travel read only a page”

Leave a Reply

